The sacred wheels

We are all energy beings, which is not that hard to imagine, considering the fact that everything around is nothing but energy. The energy of life is flowing throughout our bodies all the time via thousands of energy centers, but there are seven of them, which are considered major. They are located along the spine, starting from the base of the spine through to the crown of the head. All seven chakras help to regulate the body processes, from organ function to the immune system and emotions. Now, you probably know that in Sanskrit the word chakra means “wheel” and each of those wheels governs specific functions and has its own vibrational frequency, so in order to visualize a chakra, you could imagine a swirling wheel of energy, each of the relevant color as described below. The first three chakras are referred to as chakras of matter, i.e. more physical in nature. The fourth one represents the connection between matter and spirit, while the remaining three are referred to as chakras of spirit. This article aims to provide a brief description of the seven main chakras, which are essential to our body functions and overall physical existence. Here we go.

The Root chakra (Muladhara)


Located at the base of your spine, the first chakra is the chakra of stability, security, and our basic needs. It is associated with security and safety, survival, physicality, physical identity and aspects of self, grounding.

When imbalanced, Muladhara might result in excessive negativity, cynicism, eating disorders, greed, avarice, illusion, and excessive feeling of insecurity, living on survival mode.

The Sacral chakra (Svadhisthana)

Located just below your navel, this is the chakra of sensuality and creativity. It’s associated with emotions, feelings, relationships, relating, expression of sexuality, sensual pleasure, feeling the outer and inner worlds, creativity, and fantasies.

When imbalanced, Svadhisthana might result in dependency on other people or substances, being ruled by your emotions, feeling numb, out of touch with yourself and how you feel, overindulgence in fantasies, sexual obsessions, lack of sexual desire or satisfaction, feeling stuck in a particular feeling or mood.

The Solar Plexus chakra (Manipura)

Located at your solar plexus area, this is the chakra of expression of will, personal power, and mental abilities. It’s associated with taking responsibility for your life, taking control, mental abilities, the intellect, forming personal opinions and beliefs, making decisions, setting the direction, clarity of judgments, personal identity, personality, self-assurance, confidence, self-discipline, independence.

When imbalanced, Manipura might result in excessive control and authority over your environment and people, feeling of helplessness, irresponsibility, being obsessed with minute details, losing the big picture, being manipulative, misusing your power, lack of clear direction, lack of purpose or ambition, making plans or having a lot of ideas without finding efficient ways to realize them.

The Heart chakra (Anahata)

Located at the center of your chest, this is the chakra of compassion, love, and beauty. It’s associated with the capacity to love, integration, bridge between earthly and spiritual aspirations, transcending personal identity and limitations of the ego, experience of unconditional love and connection with all, heart-centered discernment, appreciation of beauty in all things, experiencing deep and meaningful relationships.

When imbalanced, Anahata might result in being overly defensive, feeling closed down, jealousy, fear of intimacy, codependency, relying on other’s approval and attention, trying to please at all cost, always putting oneself in the role of the savior or the rescuer or falling into victimization, excessive isolation, being recluse, antisocial, holding grudges, inability to forgive.

The Throat chakra (Vishudda)

Located at the center of your neck at the level of the throat, this is the chakra of expression and communication. It’s associated with expression, ability to express your truth, to speak out, verbal and non-verbal communication, connection with the etheric realm, the more subtle realms of spirit and intuitive abilities, propensity to create, projecting ideas and blueprints into reality, realizing your vocation, purpose, good sense of timing.

When imbalanced, Vishudda might result in lack of control over one’s speech; speaking too much or inappropriately, not being able to listen to others, excessive fear of speaking, imperceptible voice, inability to keep secrets or keep your word, telling lies, excessive secretiveness or shyness, lack of connection with a vocation or purpose in life.

The Third Eye chakra (Ajna)

Located between your eyebrows, this is the chakra of intuition and foresight. It’s associated with vision, intuition, perception of subtle dimensions and movements of energy, psychic abilities related to clairvoyance and clairaudience, access to mystical states, illumination, connection to wisdom, insight, motivation of inspiration and creativity.

When imbalanced, Ajna might result in feeling stuck in the daily grind without being able to look beyond your problems and set a guiding vision for yourself, fantasies that appear more real than reality, indulgence in psychic fantasies and illusions, inability to establish a vision for oneself and realize it, rejection of everything spiritual or beyond the usual, not being able to see the big picture, lack of clarity.

The Crown chakra (Sahasrara)

Located at the top of your head, the seventh chakra is the one of higher consciousness. Sahasrara means “thousand petals”, so it’s often depicted or visualized with a thousand-petaled lotus. It’s associated with consciousness, awareness of higher consciousness, wisdom, of what is sacred, connection with the formless, the limitless, realization, liberation from limiting patterns, communion with higher states of consciousness, ecstasy, bliss, presence.

When imbalanced, Sahasrara might result in being disconnected to spirit, constant cynicism regarding what is sacred, living in your head, being disconnected from your body and earthly matters, obsessive attachment to spiritual matters, closed-mindedness.

As you can see, vital energy force flowing freely through all these chakras is crucial, therefore energy blockages might result in illness and various disorders. In the following articles I’m gonna go into detail for all seven, one by one.



One thought on “The sacred wheels

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s